CEPI 2013

Congressional European Parliamentary Initiative

CEPI 2013 focused on cybersecurity and international trade policy.

In Brussels, fellows held meetings at the U.S. Mission to the EU and held a separate reception with MEP Baroness Sarah Ludford, who then served as Vice-Chair of the Delegation for relations with the United States. Also during their time in Brussels, fellows met with MEPs Alexander Graf Lambsdorff, Ivailo Kalfin, Daniel Caspary, Paolo de Castro, and Vital Moreira, who at the time served as chair of the European Parliament’s Committee on International Trade (INTA). Fellows also held a session with MEP Jan Philipp Albrecht on cybersecurity.

Reconvening in Washington two months later, fellows met with João Vale de Almeida, then serving as EU Ambassador to the U.S. Throughout their time in Washington, fellows met with numerous government leaders in agencies including USTR, the Department of Commerce, and the Department of Homeland Security. Fellows also held several meetings in Congress, including meeting with then-General Counsel for the late Senator John McCain.

2013 Participants

U.S. Congress

Beth Baltzan Trade Counsel Democratic Staff House Ways and Means Committee

Alvaro Bedoya Chief Counsel Democratic Staff

Michael Hermann National Security Legislative Assistant Rep. James R. Langevin (D-RI)

Andy Karellas Professional Staff House Committee on Small Business

Nick Magallanes Professional Staff House Energy and Commerce Committee, Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing and Trade

Diane Rinaldo Legislative Director Congressman Mike J. Rogers (R-MI)

David B. Stewart Assistant to the Speaker for Policy The Speaker of the House of Representatives, John A. Boehner

Stephen Viña Deputy Chief Counsel for Homeland Security Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs

Rachel Weaver Staff Director Subcommittee on Financial and Contracting Oversight, Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Government Affairs Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI)

Lydia Westlake National Security Policy Advisor Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI)

European Parliament

Ralpf Bendrath Senior Policy Adviser MEP Jan Philipp Albrecht (Germany – Greens/EFA)

Nina Beyersdorff Parliamentary Assistant/Head of Office MEP Christian Ehler (Germany – EPP)

Alex Boyd Lead Policy Advisor ECR Group, International Trade Committee

Joana Canas Trade Policy Adviser MEP Vital Moreira (Portugal – S&D)

Martti Kalaus Senior Administrator International Trade Committee

Magnus Norman Assistant MEP Gunnar Hökmark (Sweden – EPP)

Balazs Rottek Assistant MEP Kinga Göncz (Hungary)

Matilda Sisättö Policy Advisor Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs Committee

Chris Williams Political Advisor International Trade Committee

Jan Wißwässer Head of Office MEP Daniel Caspary (Germany – EPP)

 | Congressional European Parliamentary Initiative

2019 Participants