CEPI 2014

Congressional European Parliamentary Initiative

CEPI 2014 studied the intersection of cybersecurity, e-governance, and international trade policy, with a focus on TTIP negotiations.

In Brussels, fellows met with the U.S. Mission to the EU, as well as several leading MEPs, including MEP Marietje Schaake, a preeminent digital leader in Brussels. The group also discussed cybersecurity with MEP Andreas Schwab of the Internal Markets Committee, as well as international trade policy and financial services with MEP Kay Swiburne, a member of the European Parliament’s ECON Committee.

In Washington, D.C., fellows met with government representatives from USTR, including Dan Mullaney, who at the time was the lead negotiator on the TTIP. Fellows also met with representatives from the Department of Homeland Security. Members also heard a speech from then-Ambassador Michael Froman, who at the time was chief USTR. Fellows also met with a broad range of staffers and elected officials in Congress, convening around trade and cybersecurity issues.

2014 Cyber Fellows

Benjamin Bradley Legislative Aide Office of United States Senator Marco Rubio (R)

Moira Bergin Subcommittee Director Subcommittee on Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Communications House Committee on Homeland Security Congressman Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS)

Ciara Burbridge Assistant to MEP Claude Moraes (S&D) United Kingdom

Eleni Chronopoulou Policy Advisor to Marju Lauristin (S&D) Estonia

Astrid Dentler Policy Advisor for Committee on Internal Market and Consumer protection (EPP) Germany

Brett DeWitt Senior Policy Advisor for Cybersecurity House Committee on Homeland Security Congressman Michael McCaul (R-TX)

Anze Erbeznik Administrator for Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs Slovenia

Birgit Hardt Administrator for Committee on Internal Market and Consumer protection Germany

Mike Howell Professional Staff Member, Subcommittee on Financial and Contracting Oversight (FCO) Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs (HSGAC) (R)

Christopher Schepis Minority Subcommittee Director Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Security Technologies House Committee on Homeland Security (D)

2014 Trade Fellows

Dana Andericut Parliamentary Assistant to Danuta Hubner of Poland (EPP) Romania

Brandon Casey Legislative Director/Tax Counsel Congressman Richard E. Neal (D)

Brett Doyle Legislative Assistant Senator Pat Toomey (R)

Mike Dunlap Senior Professional Staff Committee on Agriculture (R)

Amelie Giesemann Policy Advisor to Andreas Schwab of Germany (EPP) Germany

Erin Gulick Policy Advisor Senator Maria Cantwell (D)

Melissa Kiedrowicz Legislative Director Congresswoman Linda Sanchez (D)

Felix Lutz Administrator for Committee on International Trade Germany

Barbara Melis Policy Advisor for Committee on International Trade (S&D) Italy

Luc Rochtus Policy Advisor Committee for Economic and Monetary Affairs (ECR) Belgium

 | Congressional European Parliamentary Initiative

2019 Participants