CEPI 2016

Congressional European Parliamentary Initiative

In Washtington, DC, CEPI 2016 started with visits to the Migration Policy Institute, the Department of Homeland Security, the Department of State, and the delegation of the European Union to the United States, among others.

In Brussels, CEPI fellows encountered the EU perspective on migration policy with stops at the European Commission, the European Parliament, and the Council of the European Union. Apart from EU institutions, stops at the United Nations Office of Drugs and Crime and the UN High Commissioner for Refugess provided additional international views on migration in Europe.

Finally, the trip to Berlin saw a multifaceted program, with discussions at the German Chancellory, the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees, and the Kiron University for Refugees.

2016 Participants

U.S. Congress

Luke Burke, Senior Professional Staff Member, House of Representatives Committee on Homeland Security

Gabrielle Gould, Policy Adviser and Counsel, Office of Congressman William R. Keating

Holly Idelson, Senior Counsel, Senate Committee on Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs

Satya Thallam, Chief Economist, Senate Committee on Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs

Jennifer Van der Heide, Chief of Staff, Office of Congressman Mike Honda

European Parliament

Álvaro García Navarro, Migration and Asylum Affairs Adviser, Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice, and Home Affairs (LIBE)

Aleksandra Garlinska, Policy Adviser, Office of Danuta Hübner, MEP

Isabelle Montoya, Principal Administrator, Committee on Foreign Affairs (AFET)

Gai Oren, Administrator, Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE)

Elisabetta Pietrobon, Policy Adviser, Secretariat of the Subcommittee on Security and Defense, Directorate-General for External Policies

German Bundestag

Sven-Olaf Heckel, Deputy Press Spokesman, CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group

Thomas Krause, Senior Economic Policy Adviser, Alliance 90/Greens Parliamentary Group

Fabian Stremmel, Political Adviser, Office of Dagmar Schmidt, MdB

Leonie von Vollard-Bockelberg, Policy Adviser, Office of Florian Hahn, MdB

Martin Wilk, Foreign Policy Adviser, Office of Frithjof Schmidt, MdB

 | Congressional European Parliamentary Initiative