Bertelsmann Stiftung

The Bertelsmann Stiftung is an independent foundation headquartered in the northern German town of Gütersloh. The Washington, DC-based Foundation is part of the Stiftung’s international network.

The Bertelsmann Stiftung was founded in 1977 by Reinhard Mohn as the result of social, corporate, and fiscal considerations. As the Bertelsmann Stiftung itself has put it, the foundation promotes “reform processes” and “the principles of entrepreneurial activity” to build a “future-oriented society.”

Since 1993, the Bertelsmann Stiftung has held the majority of capital shares in the Bertelsmann Group. It holds 80.9% together with the Reinhard Mohn Stiftung and the BVG Stiftung but has no voting rights. At present, the Bertelsmann Stiftung Executive Board consists of Dr. Ralph Heck (Chairman), Liz Mohn (Vice-Chairwoman), Dr. Jörg Dräger, and Dr. Brigitte Mohn.